The following kashrus alerts are relevant for the upcoming holiday of Pesach. The alerts were received from Kashrus providers spanning the Jewish globe.
From COR Detroit: HASHAHAR HA’OLE SPECIAL COCOA SPREAD, product of Israel, is available in pareve and dairy versions. The pareve type, which states Pareve and bears OU-P, is OU certified for Pesach and does not contain kitniyos. The dairy type, which states Dairy and contains kitniyos, bears OU-D and states that the OU supervision is for year round and not for Passover, and is not Cholov Yisroel. Check each label carefully.
LIEBER’S WHOLE PURPLE PLUMS in heavy syrup, in 30 oz. cans, is not Kosher for Pesach. The Pesach marking on the label is incorrect and is crossed out, though on some labels the Pesach wording is still legible.
This product was mistakenly sold in the Pesach section at One Stop.
SCHWARTZ APPLE JUICE is available in both Pesach and non-Pesach versions. Some non-Pesach jars were mistakenly sold in the Pesach section at One Stop Kosher Food Market. Please check each jar carefully for the Pesach marking on the back label.
From the Beth Din of Johannesburg
Please be aware, that all Kosher chickens purchased from PnP for Pesach, must bear the Pesach label. We have been informed that some non Pesachdike stock has found its way into the Pesach section at PnP Norwood that do not bear the Pesach label and are not Kosher for Pesach.
Please make sure to look for the label before buying chicken at PnP.
Mediterranean Delicacies Kosher for Passover salmon pate is incorrectly labeled as Pareve. The product is Milchik and is Chalav Yisrael.
Atlanta Kashruth Commission: Miscellaneous Coffees that are usable for Passover without a Passover symbol
Decaffeinated Coffee always Requires Kosher for Passover Certification.
The following brands have KFP certification but do not have a KFP on the label and may be purchased in the regular supermarket section:
Coffee Whole bean unflavored Decaffeinated
Brooklyn Coffee House, Ellis, Folgers, Hena, Parker House, White House
Pete’s Ground Coffee Unflavored which is certified by the KSA, is fine for Pesach use without the “P” designation. This is true for both regular and decaf.
All Chocolate Emporim Passover Chocolate Covered Cranberries purchased from March 28, 2016 to 2 pzm on April 7, 2016 should not be eaten on Passover. There may be potential kitniyos issue with them. Consumers can return products to the store for a refund or exchange, (This includes candy tray arrangements, candy rounds and bulk candy pouches.) All other Passover products are not problematic.
Flax and hemp (whole grains only) may be used on Pesach. They should be purchased from manufacturers that do not process Chometz grains also. These grains should also be carefully checked before Pesach for any residue.
Star K certified Acetum Balsamic Vinegar does NOT require a “P” (Pesach) designation for use on Pesach.
From the OK Kosher Certification:
Fresh Direct freshly ground smooth peanut butter and freshly ground smooth almond butter mistakenly bears the OK-P kosher symbol. The Fresh Direct website correctly lists these products as OK pareve certified for year round use. This product is kosher pareve, but is NOT kosher for Passover.
The JSOR said these products are also not recommended for Passover for Sephardim.